Anna Agoston/Second Inspiration

Anna Agoston is a photographer that caught my eye due to her absolutely amazing photo series of macro, black and white photos of living plants on her website. She is able to capture details and remove context and this allows the viewer to focus on what is in the photo. I began to really play with black and white in my photos and tried to capture details that I would normally overlook, but that is about it when it comes to similarities of our photos. My photos have nothing on Anna Agoston, and I was inspired by how incredibly detailed her work was and how she was able to capture the motion of her plant subjects.

My photos above are what I think are some of the best products of my experimental black and white photography of nature. I wish that I could have been more adventurous in trying to do a solid background with the subject just in focus like Anna, but at the same time I don’t want to do the same thing as other artists. I want to be able to be me when I create my own work. However, Anna has given me a new idea that I would like to try when I finish this book assignment. I won’t say what it is just yet. At least, not until I have cemented my idea.

Leave a Reply

