Book Proposal

 

The theme for my book proposal is traveling to new places that I have never been or explored before, and taking photos that interest me. I was raised on an Indian Reservation and never really explored the different areas around my home town. For as long as I can remember, I actually made excuses not to go anywhere because I was always too scared to try new things. However, with the help of my book, I want to branch out of my comfort zone and explore new places. I want to be able to experience what this world has to offer and if I can do this by just driving to Wine Country, San Diego, or even Los Angeles than I will be able to proudly say that I tried something new.

What I really want to accomplish within my theme of exploring is having no expectations. I don’t want to put pressure on myself to take photos like my classmates do. I don’t want to have my photos look what they are “suppose” to look like. I don’t want to continue shooting the same old photos that I normally do in specific angles. I want to be able to play with colors, size, and angles. I WANT to have fun with this and I feel like the only way I can accomplish this is by having no preconceived expectations placed on my shoulders. I also want to be able to play with how I capture people within my book. Maybe instead of capturing the back of people like Alex Boyd,  I will take profiles instead. Maybe I will focus some of my photos on a profile of people or myself within my landscape photos. I want to experiment and hopefully this will allow me to grow not as just a photographer, but as a more well rounded person who is not afraid to leave her comfort zones.

 

 

Leave a Reply

