Flor Garduño

Another assignment that I had this week for photography class was to attend the Flor Garduño exhibit at the Museum of Photographic Arts in Balboa Park. It was my first time going to Balboa Park and it was incredible. Flor Garduño is an amazing photographer! While some of her photos confused me beyond reason, they were still compelling in the way that her black and white decisions changed the entire tone of the photos. Some of my favorite photos stood out more to me because they were in black and white. My favorite photos of hers was from her Fantastic Women collection. The ability to tell stories or adaptations of myths through the use of a woman body said something to me. They were not sexualized or objectified in my eyes and I loved that.  Overall, Flor Garduño is a great inspiration and I would love to try and do photos like her.

Leave a Reply

