Jonathan Huer

Sailer-Shoot-Small-025-200x300

Míiyuyam (hello everyone)!

Jonathan Huer came to my VSAR 302 arts class today on campus to talk to the students about how to basically profit from your work and the different ways that an artist can do this. There was so much information jammed into my head within the span of an hour that I fear that I did not get all the necessary information needed to help me become successful should I decide to create a career in visual arts. The main point that I got from todays visit is that if you want to profit on your art than creating a network would be best in this day and age due to social media. Jonathan recommends taking your time to build a network with people in person and networking with people in social media. Another piece of advice that he recommends is to be consistent in whatever it is that you are working on. By doing this, your network will only build and you will have a better chance at profiting on your work.

His advice was great, but his presentation was not as structured as I would have liked. He was all over the place when he was providing his information.  That was my only negative thought about his presentation. He was very good in conveying very difficult topics into easy to understand theories! This was the best part for me considering that this is the first time I have ever heard of the ways to profit off of art in a very competitive, economic society. I am happy to have been here for his presentation, and I have definitely learned valuable lessons that I have a feeling will come in handy in the future.

Nosúun Lóoviq (Thank you)!

Leave a Reply

